What excuses do you have for not staying in the weight loss game?

I don’t know about you, however, in the past, I was a Queen – that’s right, Queen with a capital “Q” – for making excuses as to why I was on this crazy yo-yo weight “loss” cycle.  I say “in the past” simply because I am re-training my way of thinking.  And, re-training my way of thinking will be so important for me in maintaining the weight I have released.  So here is a taste of excuses I know I have made – and in bold, what I have done to change those excuses. 

1.  I’m too busy.  I have a job, two kids and family.

My new healthy lifestyle has given me more energy to do, well, all of the above.  I have energy to be busier (haha – I somehow found a way to become busier inspiring others to be all that they were intended to be).  My attitude as has changed at work – I am more focused and have increased my effectiveness and productivity at work.  Because I have more energy and clarity, I take time to spend with my family.  I get down on the floor and play with my kids.  We read stories and sometimes – just snuggle. 

2.  I can’t remember to take my daily vitamins. 

You know those nasty pill containers that our grandparent’s have?  You know, the ones with their morning and night pills separated for every day of the week.  Well, I splurged and spent $7 on one of those at the grocery store.  This has made it so simple, and easy for me to take my daily vitamins.  I fill it up once a week – which takes me 5 to 10 minutes.  I’ve missed taking my vitamins 1 night, in the last 36 days.

3.  I’m to tired. Period. 

Well, I already told you I have more energy.  I have a constant stream of energy now from the time I get up in the morning, until about 9 or 10 at night.  I aim for at least 8 hours of sleep at night - because sleep is important for our bodies (I see a possible topic in the future…SLEEP.  Why is it important?).

4.  I can’t resist the cravings.

I’d be lying if I said I don’t still have cravings.  Because, I do.  Sometimes, these craving are habitual.  For instance, when in line at the grocery store and the Caramilk bar is screaming at me “buy me…eat me…I taste soooo good!”.  I just say to myself in my head “I don’t need you Caramilk - you make me more tired, and helped give me my muffintop”.  Or, at night after the kids go to bed and I’m winding down on the couch – I used to love to snuggle up with a bag of chips.  Now, I eat an orange diced up and dusted with cocoa powder and stevia – frozen.  YUM! 

5.  I like celebrating with my family by cooking great meals, or going out for dinner. 

Holiday family meals – a hurdle I have yet to HAVE to tackle.  I have healthy eating cookbooks – so I will learn how to make a delicious meal without butter, white bread, and cream.  As far as going out – I just know I will have to order a healthy option (Ie. Salad with dressing on the side and chicken breast).  No more Chinese Food binges with hubby.  Applebee’s will definitely be out of the picture – they don’t offer one healthy choice on their menu.  I know there are many restaurants that offer healthy food.  It will be in my control to make a healthy choice. 

6.  Eating-out is impossible to avoid with my job.

Tackled this baby yesterday!  Had my first PR lunch out.  I was a little nervous – because really, people sometimes look at you funny when you order a salad – just a salad.  Ranchhouse offers a Springmix Salad, which I had topped with chicken breast.  I did not eat the bread it came with, nor did I use the dressing I asked for “on the side, please”.  I drank water.  I was full, and satisfied after my meal.  No 2PM nappy! 

7.  I don’t like to make two separate meals – for my family and myself.

Hubby is on board with healthy eating.  He will be starting my program soon.  I have always promoted healthy eating at home – so this is nothing new.  It’s just hard for my family when I am inconsistent.  I make the meals – so it is my responsibility to nourish my family with healthy food, that tastes good! 

8.  I don’t have time to exercise as much as I need to.  I’m to heavy to run anymore.  My knees hurt when I run now.

I’m nearly 30lbs lighter!  My knees don’t hurt anymore.  I can’t wait to run again – cause I love the endorphin’s pumping through my body, and the way I feel when I run!!  Plus, that energy thing – I have energy – therefore, I have time. 

9.  I love to relax in front of the TV with an evening snack.  I love Double-Stuffed Oreo’s way to much.  I love ripple chips and jalapeno dip way to much.

I understand now, eating an entire row (okay….an entire bag) of Double-Stuffed Oreo cookies will not support my lifelong goal of maintaining my weight released.  Nor will the ripple chips, jalapeno dip, cheesy dilly dip, pop etc. etc. etc.  I can’t eat those things anymore.  Period. 

10.  I love to cook, and people who love to cook can’t be thin.

People can love to cook and be thin.  They just can’t sample every bit, lick every spoon – and then eat two (plus) servings of what they have prepared – at each meal. 

11.  I get bored with the same routine and I don’t lose weight fast enough to keep me motivated.

I’ve lost weight fast, I feel good, I look good.  Therefore, I am motivated.  I will change my routine by exploring different recipes – recipes that nourish my body. 

12.  I’ve had two babies – they just wrecked my body.

I have my body back – it’s not their fault! They are innocent people!  I can’t blame those beautiful boys!

13.  I’m getting older and my metabolism has slowed down – I’m destined to have flab forever. 

I’ve reset my metabolism.  I’ve released visceral fat (fat surrounding my organs, and abdominal fat).  I will not have flab forever.  I’ll be thin forever! 

14.  The weight will come back as soon as I stop my regime – so why bother starting, AGAIN?!

Again, I’ve reset my metabolism.  I will be able to consume a healthy number of calories each day – enough to support what my body needs to function, plus exercise. 

Okay, I have to stop now.  I could continue, trust me.  I gotta say, this is shocking when I see it in writing!!  If you are carrying excess weight, or just downright feel older than you really are – what are your excuses?

I’m not on a “diet” anymore.  I’ve changed the way I fuel my body.

About goodbyemymuffintop

I am a working mother of two children motivated and inspired to change the obesity trend in my country!

Posted on February 10, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,445 other followers

